1. Not Speaking Aloud

When I first arrived in Spain, I was terrified to speak Spanish. I would sit silently and listen to every conversation but I would never participate out of fear. I did not want to be made fun of because I sounded dumb or I made a mistake. However, this was a huge mistake!

I really started picking up the language when I let go of the fear of not sounding authentic, just like the Spaniards. No matter how hard you try, you won’t sound just like the Spaniards, the Germans, or the French when you are learning the language; it is impossible! And if you are focusing THAT hard on perfecting the accent, you are focusing on the wrong aspect of learning the language. I sounded like an American speaking Spanish… because I was. I STILL am!

Tip #1: Speak the new language aloud every single day. You will learn the language much quicker.

 

  1. Not Reading

Some people love to read. Some people hate it. No matter what end of the spectrum you are on, in order to learn a new language, you MUST read.

I recommend getting a hard copy of a book you have already read (and LOVE) in your native language. For me, this was “El Cuaderno de Noah”. In English, the title is The Notebook.

If you have already read the book in your native language, it will help you follow the storyline and fill in parts that you are missing or are confused about in your new language. Now why do I recommend a hard copy? A hard copy of a book allows you to take notes in the margins with new vocabulary terms, conjugations, etc.

 Tip #2: Read a book in the language you are learning every single day.

 

  1. Not Practicing The Language

Practice makes perfect. If you truly want to learn a language, you need to put the time and effort in! Speak, read, watch, listen.

There are so many ways to practice a language. Do you enjoy watching TV? Watch a show in the language you are learning. You can also put on subtitles to help. I recommend putting the subtitles on in the same language so you can listen and read at the same time. Do you like to read? GREAT! Refer to Tip #2. Do you like to listen to music? AWESOME, find some artists that you enjoy and rock on. However, if you want my opinion, this is one of the hardest methods to learn a new language. Singers often sing at a much quicker pace than when people speak conversationally. If you are a beginner, it might be hard to keep up. Finally, make friends who speak the language and have conversations. Some of my best friends are from Spain and they keep me accountable to keep learning and practicing the Spanish language everyday.

Tip #3: WRITE. SPEAK. LISTEN. WATCH. PRACTICE… DAILY.

 

  1. Translating Vocabulary Into Words You Know In Your Native Language

Do not make this mistake! It is a big one. When you first start learning a language, you will translate everything into something you understand in your native language.

For example:

  • Perro –> Dog
  • Gato –> Cat
  • Sandía –> Watermelon

These words listed above have direct translations. However, not every word or conjugation has the same meanings in both your native language and your new language. Your thought process should be something likes this “See Image. Say Word”. Do not “See Image. Say What Word Is In English. Translate to Spanish”. Your ultimate goal is to speak a new language, not translate it. This will help you speak faster and more fluently! It will also get easier as you practice your new language more.

Tip #4: Do not translate. Think in the language you are learning.

 

  1. Not Traveling To A Country That Speaks The Language You Are Learning

By far the biggest reason why I was able to learn the Spanish language was because I studied abroad for a year in Spain.

Because I was immersed in the Spanish language and culture, I was able to pick up the language at a much faster rate. By speaking with locals, you will learn phrases that they commonly use, how to interact socially, and so much more.

During my first month studying abroad, I felt like a newborn baby. I had absolutely NO IDEA what my host family was talking about 99% of the time. However, by being immersed in the language every day, you start to pick up on words, phrase, etc.

If you can, living abroad is the BEST way to learn a new language.

Tip #5: Spend at least 6 months to a year in a country that speaks the language you want to learn.